Your lawyers since 1722

Green building leaders and innovators honoured in prestigious WorldGBC Global Awards

Today, the World Green Building Council’s Chair Tai Lee Siang announced the winners of the prestigious WorldGBC Global Awards at the CaGBC Awards Gala reception in Toronto, Canada as part of Building Lasting Change 2018 with WorldGBC Congress Canada.

United Technologies Corporation (UTC) and Dr. Joseph Allen of the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health were jointly awarded the WorldGBC Chair’s Award, together with Dan Slone, former legal counsel to WorldGBC and founder of Vertical Vision PLC.

The Chair’s Award is given to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the global green building movement.  This year, WorldGBC’s Chair Tai Lee Siang, awarded three winners, in honour of the impressive achievements made by these individuals.

Lisa Bate, Vice-Chair of WorldGBC presented the David Gottfried Global Green Building Entrepreneurship Award to Energiesprong for their unique and innovative contribution to the global green building movement.

Tai Lee Siang, Chair of WorldGBC, said:

“This year’s winners have played truly outstanding and often diverse roles in championing green building around the world. UTC and Dr Joseph Allen have strengthened the business case for green buildings globally through the development and promotion of groundbreaking research. Dan Slone’s legal advice and guidance to WorldGBC has been invaluable. Energiesprong’s innovative approach to a business-led green building strategy is helping to transform home refurbishment.

“I congratulate all four winners and wish them all every success for the future as they continue on our collective journey to deliver green buildings for everyone, everywhere.”

The Awards were held as part of CaGBC’s Building Lasting Change 2018 with WorldGBC Congress Canada. Jasper Van den Munckhof, Director of Energiesprong received the award from Tai Lee Siang, WorldGBC’s Chair. Dan Slone accepted the award and gave thanks to WorldGBC via a video link.

The winners join an illustrious list of previous Chair’s Award winners, including Romilly Madew, CEO of the Green Building Council of Australia (2017) and Rick Fedrizzi, former CEO of the US Green Building Council and current CEO of The International WELL Building Institute (2016).

Past winners of the David Gottfried Award include William McDonough and Professor Dr Michael Braungart, co-creators of the Cradle to Cradle® Design Framework and Cradle to Cradle Certified TM Products Program (2017), and Pierre-André de Chalendar, CEO of Saint Gobain (2016).

United Technologies Corporation and Dr Joseph Allen

United Technologies Corporation and Dr. Joseph Allen were honoured for their combined contributions to the green building movement. Through the ground-breaking COGfx and HEALTHfx studies, they have helped expand the business case for green building to include human health and productivity. The body of research has helped spearhead the transition toward a healthier, more sustainable built environment.

Dan Slone

Dan Slone served as legal counsel to WorldGBC from its inception in 2002 until 2017. In this time, his efforts were instrumental in shaping and securing the organisation’s development and success.  His specialist knowledge was invaluable to WorldGBC and its members, inspiring companies to operate sustainable business practices in the correct way. By focusing his legal practice on sustainability, environment and land use, he has successfully championed sustainability in the legal sector, rendering him a worthy winner of the Chair’s Award.


Energiesprong was chosen as this year’s winner of the David Gottfried Award for their unique approach to a business-led green building strategy. Energiesprong offers a revolutionary approach and funding solution to whole house refurbishment and new buildings. WorldGBC is inspired by the leadership Energiesprong has demonstrated in driving the global transformation towards a net zero building stock, by setting a new industry standard for super energy efficient home refurbishments.