Your lawyers since 1722

WorldGBC snapshots detail net zero carbon standards developed by Green Building Councils

The World Green Building Council has published a set of snapshots detailing key information about the net zero carbon standards released so far by Green Building Councils (GBCs) participating in the global Advancing Net Zero (ANZ) programme.

The snapshots tie directly to the Advancing Net Zero framework, clearly communicating how each standard relates to each of the four key principles which support the transition towards net zero carbon buildings in each country’s market.

GBCs in 15 markets have developed net zero carbon standards and frameworks. They combine energy efficiency and renewable energy concepts to define absolute zero carbon, which contribute to the global carbon reduction targets set by the Paris Agreement.  These include:

  1. Australia
  2. Brazil
  3. Canada
  4. France
  5. Germany
  6. India
  7. Indonesia
  8. Netherlands
  9. New Zealand
  10. Philippines
  11. South Africa
  12. Sweden
  13. UAE
  14. UK
  15. USA

The snapshots demonstrate how the project framework ensures commonality across the network, whilst embracing market specific applications to maximise local uptake.

Whether developed as a new standard, adapting an existing certification scheme, or developing a compliance pathway in collaboration with national government, these voluntary standards provide an opportunity for companies to embrace net zero carbon buildings as business as usual.

To download the snapshots, click on the blue download button on the right hand side of this page.

To find out more about the Advancing Net Zero project, click here. To participate in the project, contact Victoria Burrows.